God’s Provision

It’s incredible how much God cares about the smallest needs in our lives. Many of us may forget to include such needs in our prayers because we may not deem it as valuable enough to get God’s attention. What I’m learning is that He truly knows all of our needs before we ask and most times He’ll give us what we need in His perfect timing even if we never intend on asking for them. Most importantly, if we ask for help with a sincere heart and faith, He will answer our prayers according to His will.

I moved into my new place just a few weeks ago. I was excited and nervous at the same time. I had to move in two weeks and I was not financially prepared for such a major expense at the time. I was also nervous about living on my own for the first time and taking on such a large responsibility. However, I knew it was God’s will for me to have the apartment.

How did I know? I received a call that my application (submitted 2 years ago) was selected in the affordable housing lottery via housing connect and that because my log number was so low (#20), they wanted to give me a chance. The odds are very slim for applicants to get selected and be approved by HPD. I know this because I have been selected twice in the past and didn’t make it past the interview. I was also informed that the process normally takes 6-8 weeks but because they needed to fill the building by the end of February, the process would be much shorter. It is an incredible blessing to have affordable, stabilized rent in New York City. Especially in my location.

Not only were the events leading up to the move a clear indication of God’s will but the events that took place after I moved in. So I mentioned I was not financially-prepared. So I was notified that I will be receiving a bonus and a raise at work the same day I sign my lease. Patience was very important in this process. Although I wanted to sign earlier, I decided to wait and then I received great news about extra income. However, things didn’t turn out as planned. Turns out the bonus wouldn’t go into effect until a few weeks later. So I gathered all I could from my savings and paycheck to afford the lease signing and the move and realized I still didn’t have enough. But I trusted that it was God’s will. So I discussed with my friends how terrible my day was going because I didn’t know how I was going to pay rent and security deposit in 2 hours and both friends offered to help me out. I thank God for good friends! Lord knows I hate asking people for help but they were able to offer help.

However, I spent everything on my move. SO I was extremely worried about food and whether I’d have enough to last a week and a few days. I distinctly remember praying in the shower after I spent my last bit of money on food. It was a very sincere and honest prayer about how hungry I was starting to feel and how I didn’t want to ask anyone for anything but that I trusted Him that He will not allow me to go hungry and that He will provide. The next day I woke up with $500 deposited into my bank account.

After that, although I could afford it, I decided to delay immediate gratification and hold out on buying a microwave. I knew in my heart that if I just waited a bit longer, that God would provide. The last few weeks have been a bit of a struggle, cooking and bringing my meals to work to warm up but nonetheless, I learned it’s not difficult living without a microwave. However, I still desired it, I just don’t recall asking for one in my prayers. BUT God provided. A post was sent out by another alumnus from my school about free furniture and someone posted that they had an extra microwave so I claimed it.

God is good all the time and all the time God is good!

Author: Vanessa Mack

A Christian millennial, fascinated with grace, passionate about learning, tech, finance, expressive writing and encouraging others.

Leave a comment